The new dream…

I’ve always dreamt of travelling all over the world before I settle down and get a real adult job but when I decided I wanted to be a teacher everything went on a sort of fastforward of planning to train and teach and be in a job within 2 years of graduating. This scared me ever so slightly (well massively actually) so the new dream is New Zealand.

Ever since I made the most amazing friend at camp that is from New Zealand all I’ve wanted to do is go there! So now the plan is to go there for a year and work as an au pair. It will be great experience for teaching, something I’ve always thought about doing and I’ll be able to travel at the same time. It’s literally perfect.

I have family and friends that have been au pairs and they have told me the best stories of their experiences but also said how careful I need to be. It’s so easy to get stuck with a family you don’t get along with or that treats you wrongly. But then there are so many wonderful things I’ve been told! All I want to do now is go!

I am currently supposed to be studying for my exams in the next few weeks and this is my new favourite form of procrastination. Looking at all the things I want to do when I’m in New Zealand, seeing all the places I can visit and looking at all the different application sites for au pairing. I still have a year of my degree left and likely another year of working to get enough money to be able to actually go but I can still dream of it can’t I?

Leave a comment